ASAUK Distinguished Africanist Award 2013 and 2014

The Distinguished Africanist Award was inaugurated by the ASAUK as a way of paying tribute to people who have made exceptional contributions to the field of African studies: scholars who have in one way or another expanded and disseminated knowledge of Africa, and interest in Africa. The award is not confined to academics. It is intended for people who have contributed largely to African Studies in the UK, or who have strengthened links between African Studies here and in Africa itself.

The first awards were made during the ASAUK conference on Human Rights in Africa at Preston in 2001.

2011 and 2012 awards: Kenneth and Pravina King, and Lalage Bown
2010 award: Robin Law
2009 award: James Currey
2008 award: John McCracken
2007 award: George Shepperson
2006 award: John Lonsdale
2005 award: Tony Kirk-Greene
2004 award: Roland Oliver and Terry Ranger
2002 award: Lionel Cliffe, Eldred and Marjorie Jones and Shula Marks
2001 award: Basil Davidson, John Fage, and Douglas Rimmer

The next two winners of the Distinguished Africanist Award will be announced at ASAUK Biennial conference to be held at the University of Sussex, 9-11 September 2014.

Nominations must come from ASAUK members. They should consist of a concise one-page single-spaced statement by the nominator, outlining the range of contributions by the nominee to African Studies in the UK; a selective one-page CV, with major publications; and statements of support by no more than two other members (maximum of one page each).

Send nominations by the 31 March 2014 to enable the ASAUK Council to make the selection at its meeting in May.

The address is: Gemma Haxby, Office Manager, Royal African Society, 36 Gordon Square, London WC1H 0PD;