Awards & Prizes

The ASAUK currently offers four awards:


Outstanding African Studies Award


This is a tribute to people who have made exceptional contributions to the field of African Studies.


ASAUK Prize for the Best Doctoral Thesis in African Studies


The ASAUK Best Thesis Prize is awarded biennially for the best doctoral thesis in African Studies which has been successfully examined in a United Kingdom institute of higher education during the two calendar years immediately preceding the ASAUK Conference.


The ASAUK Best Book and Best First Book Prize


The ASAUK awards two book prizes, the ASAUK Best Book Prize and the ASAUK Best First Book Prize.  The ASAUK presents the prizes to the author of an outstanding original scholarly work published on Africa during the preceding two years, and to the author of the best first book published on Africa during the preceding two years.


Lasting Legacy Award


The posthumous Lasting Legacy Award is an occasional (not regular) award that recognises the work of people who have left a lasting legacy on African Studies and on our understanding of Africa and its engagement with the world. The award is not confined to academics.