Outstanding African Studies Award

Outstanding African Studies Award

The Outstanding African Studies Award (formerly known as Distinguished Africanist Award) was inaugurated by the ASAUK as a way of paying tribute to individuals or teams who have made exceptional contributions to the field of African studies, i.e. scholars who have in one way or another expanded and disseminated knowledge of Africa, and interest in Africa.



The award is not confined to academics or to people based in the UK, but is intended for people who have contributed largely to African Studies in the UK, or who have strengthened links between African Studies here and in Africa itself.



Deadline for nominations is 15 March 2024. Nominations will then be circulated to Council prior to the Council meeting in April.


The nomination should consist of 3 elements combined into one PDF document and emailed to the President Carli Coetzee at ASAofUK@gmail.com.


The three elements should be:


  1. a concise one page single spaced statement by the nominator, outlining the range of contributions by the nominee to African Studies in the UK
  2. a selective two page bio or C.V. with major publications, contributions and achievements
  3. two single page statements of support by two other ASAUK members.


Professor Paulo Fernando de Moraes Farias and Professor Karin Barber


JDY Peel, Nici Nelson and Richard Hodder-Williams


Gavin Williams

2011 and 2012

Kenneth and Pravina King, and LalageBown


Robin Law


James Currey


John McCracken


George Shepperson


John Lonsdale


Tony Kirk-Greene


Roland Oliver and Terry Ranger


Lionel Cliffe, Eldred and Marjorie Jones and Shula Marks


Basil Davidson, John Fage, and Douglas Rimmer